Image: Rick Amor, The dog 1990. Collection of McClelland Sculpture Park+Gallery

McClelland Awards Exhibition 

10 November 2021 – 6 February 2022

Works shortlisted for a series of major awards in drawing, watercolour, and ceramics will be exhibited at McClelland, 10 November 2021 to 6 February 2022. The works are in the running for prestigious awards at McClelland totalling $55,000; the Rick Amor Drawing Award, the Splash McClelland Contemporary Watercolour Award and the Senini Award for Ceramics by tertiary students.

One prize of $20,000 was awarded for the most worthy drawing (Rick Amor Drawing Award), three prizes of $10,000 were awarded for works in watercolour (Splash Contemporary Watercolour Award) and $3,000 was awarded to a tertiary art student for a ceramic work, courtesy of Mary and Lou Senini. There will also be a People’s Choice Award for both the Rick Amor Drawing Award and the Splash Watercolour Award, valued at $1,000 each.

The award funds have been generously provided by the Fornari Bequest, artist Rick Amor, and Mary and Lou Senini.

The Rick Amor Drawing Award 

The Rick Amor Drawing Award will be held at McClelland for the first time in 2021. McClelland is delighted to be showcasing the medium of drawing with this acquisitive award, thanks to the generous support of Rick Amor. Rick Amor was born in Frankston and has drawn and painted the area many times over the course of his artistic career. In 2021 this acquisitive award was granted to an outstanding original drawing, which will become part of the McClelland collection.

Finalists: Zoe Amor, Stephen Armstrong, Jacqueline Balassa, Lorraine Biggs, W. H. Chong, David Fenoglio, Jane Grealy, Pei Pei He, Domenica Hoare, Terry Matassoni, Anh Nguyen, Catherine O’Donnell, Lyn Raymer, Robert Scholten, Benedict Sibley, Joe Whyte, Joel Wolter.

Please note: Zoe Amor’s entry was judged under a pseudonym and was selected by the panel anonymously.


David Fengolio ‘Material Landscape’ 2021


SPLASH Contemporary Watercolour Award

Held at McClelland every three years, the Splash: McClelland Contemporary Watercolour Award was established to showcase Australian artists who work in the medium of watercolour. It is an acquisitive award with funds from the Fornari Bequest, by the Will of the late Lena May Fornari, and is a legacy of her support for the arts in Victoria. Lena May was an ardent collector of works by the watercolourist Herbert Rose, which she also left to McClelland, and the first acquisitions through this Bequest were significant watercolours. Continuing this tradition, Splash focuses on contemporary watercolour practice. In 2021 this acquisitive award was granted to three outstanding original artworks in the medium of watercolour, which will all become part of the McClelland collection. Offering three awards will allow us to more broadly support artists during this challenging time. The awards aim to promote artistic excellence, while expanding McClelland’s significant collection for the benefit of the local community as well as wider Australian and international audiences.

Finalists: Joseph Anatolius, Matteo Bernasconi, Lee Bethel, Naomi Bishop, Eugene Carchesio, Chris Casali, Veronica Caven Aldous, Michelle Cawthorn, Louisa Chircop, Libby Derham, Chonggang Du, Louise Foletta, Alison Ford, Belinda Fox, William Goodwin, Domenica Hoare, Kris Kang, Martin King, Anne Kucera, Alex Linegar, Tania Mason, Megan McPherson, Valentina Palonen, Gregory Pryor, Annika Romeyn, Katika Schultz, Andrew Seward, Louise Tate.


Gregory Prior ‘Success Hill (Repair)’ 2021
Andrew Seward ‘Mulberry, summer’ 2016
Joseph Anatolius ‘Work #3 (Arrangement)’ 2020

Mary & Lou Senini Award in Ceramics

This $3,000 Award was presented by McClelland Sculpture Park+Gallery to an applicant who, in the opinion of the selection panel, displays outstanding ability and promise. Established in 1998, the award alternates between the disciplines of Sculpture, Painting and Printmaking, Textiles and Ceramics. In 2021 McClelland is pleased to present the award for Ceramics.

Finalists: Pattie Beerens, Claire Bridge, Mark Friedlander, Marion Harper, Debbie Hill, Saskia Muecke, Narelle White.


Saskia Muecke ‘Unintitled #2: studies in natural series’ 2021